Hike

  • to walk a long distance especially for pleasure or exercise : to go on a hike

  • : to suddenly increase the cost, amount, or level of (something)

  • : to pull or lift (something, such as yourself or part of your clothing) with a quick movement

Source: Merriam-Webster’s Learner’s Dictionary
The word “hike” reminds me of excursions to Acadia National Park in Maine, where my  husband, my brother and me went to see the great outdoors.  I never had the strength to climb Katahdin, she’s too tough for me, but I did try.  The one experience I treasure the most from our hikes is when a giant male moose came thundering through our campsite.  It was incredibly beautiful and terrifying at the same moment. I could hear his hooves ringing like iron in the distance as he approached. It’s a sound I’ll never forget.
The next day we went down the mountain and ended up in a brook that had thousands of gorgeous blue butterflies in the air. It was like heaven.  Mother Nature has beauty and fury, and we should remember to respect her.
2 thoughts on “Hike

Leave a Reply

