Slog

  • To keep doing something even though it is difficult or boring : to work at something in a steady, determined way

  • : to walk slowly usually with heavy steps

Source: Merriam-Webster’s Learner’s Dictionary

 

I prefer the term “trudging” to “slog” when thinking about moving and turning in time without my husband by my side.  Our old, dear friend told me once he thought the word that describes me most is “trudging”, and I took umbrage at that. Upon inspection, “trudging” has a very stellar definition. I looked to Merriam Webster for that, too: “to walk slowly and heavily because you are tired or working very hard, or to move forward with a purpose.”  Not too shabby, after all.

The process of moving forward in life without the people who were my whole world is indeed a slog through the emotional mud that I’m trying to process. But I guess I’m doing it, whether I like it or not.  Some tell me life’s what you make it.  It is a gift that I’ve been ignoring as of late. So it’s time for me to wake up.

Leave a Reply

