Twinkle

My husband had a twinkle in his eyes that attracted other suffering humans to him like a magnet. I don’t know how he maintained it, after all he went through in childhood, in Southeast Asia and after the rude homecoming that so many Viet Nam era veterans experienced.  We support our troops now, but we didn’t back then.  I’m glad we finally learned our lesson and corrected our behavior.  It’s about time.

Every time I look up into the sky at night and see twinkling stars, I hope he’s there on one of them, having the time of his life, meeting new life forms (he was a Trekkie, I confess), and rocketing off into other dimensions. He certainly earned that kind of enjoyment by doing his time in the trenches.  Peace out, my Morris. You will never be forgotten.

One thought on “Twinkle

Leave a Reply

