…Author Brendan Gerad O’Brien shows y’can take the Irishman out of Ireland, but…

Reblogged from Seumas Gallacher, an interview with veteran author Brendan Gerad O”Brien about the writing process, persistence and Olivetti typewriters (my favorite in the whole world). Lots of good advice here, enjoy!

Seumas Gallacher

…but trying to remove the Eire would be an error…

bren

1 – Tell us about your connection with Wales:

I was born in Tralee on the west coast of Ireland and came to the UK when I joined the Royal Navy at 18. It was while I was on a course in Portsmouth that I met a beautiful Welsh girl, Jennifer Marshall, who was on holiday from Newport, South Wales. After a short romance we got married and when my service contract ended we went to live in Newport to be near her family. We’ve been there ever since.

2 – Tell us about yourself as a writer and as a person:

When I won my first writing competition I was so excited I ran all the way home. I was about eight years old. The Fun Fair was coming to Tralee – our little town on the…

View original post 1,896 more words

Leave a Reply

