Why I am happy to be here

Today has been very forgettable. I thought I’d remind myself of just a few of the reasons I’m happy to be here on Mother Earth.  My hope is that this post will start a conversation about growth from pain.

In the last twelve months, I have lost four pivotal people in my life. The most important one of those was my Dad, who always gave me solid advice.

Today I broke my shoelace, and that was the last straw.  I spent more than five minutes today feeling sorry for myself, which breaks my own rule for living.  My remedy, now, is to list ten reasons why I’m a lucky woman: 1)  I met and married the love of my life, my amazing husband, who is still by my side. 2) My beloved Lilybugcat, who inspired my blog name, is right now yowling up a storm, and being as photogenic and adorable as always. 3) Pictures of Lily, and her gorgeous sister Happy will be posted on this page in the near future. 4) My two stepchildren are as  headstrong and as their father, and I love them as my own. 5) I’ve had the rare privilege of spending every weekend since before my Dad passed, until just last month, with my remarkable Mother.  6) My Dad called me a “good kid” during a long night at a hospital. What a great gift, Dad.  Thank you for that.  7) I am today surrounded by friends who keep me laughing. 8) My orchids still bloom in my kitchen, in spite of the cold New England weather. 9) The newest addition to our family,  a black lab puppy, will come home to us next week. 10) The grass I planted on Dad’s grave may be dying now, but I’ll re-seed it again next Spring.

Leave a Reply

